pinterest-circle facebook-circle twitter-circle instagram-circle ss-standard-direct-right ss-standard-cart ss-standard-close ss-standard-exit ss-standard-notebook ss-standard-redirect ss-standard-rows ss-standard-search ss-standard-user delivery-truckarrow-right-line
orders cart log in search

2011 National Arbor Day Awards

Lawrence Enersen Award

Mark Schnobrich

Mark Schnobrich

Mark Schnobrich of Hutchinson, Minn., was presented with the Lawrence Enersen Award, which is given to those who have had a positive impact on the environment through a lifelong commitment to tree-planting and conservation at a community level. Schnobrich was the city forester of Hutchinson, Minn., for more than 31 years before he retired on Dec. 31. During this time, Schnobrich turned Hutchinson into a forest on the prairie with tree-lined streets and healthy, stately elms towering over the community. Hutchinson has been a Tree City USA for 31 years due in large part to Schnobrich's leadership and commitment to its urban forest. He implemented a tree-planting program funded by the local utility company to strategically add trees on private property to shade air conditioners and windows and slow cold winter winds, reducing the city's energy usage. He also proactively worked with the University of Minnesota to train volunteers to conduct a tree survey to prepare the community for the threat of Emerald Ash Borer.

This year’s winners are:

Award winners are recognized for their leadership in the cause of tree planting, conservation,and environmental stewardship.

Leaders in tree planting, conservation, and environmental stewardship from around the country and world are honored each year at our annual Arbor Day Awards celebration held in Nebraska City, Nebraska. The awards ceremony is part of the annual Arbor Day weekend celebration held at Lied Lodge & Conference Center.